Class of 1974-1975

Superintendent of schools was W.G. Farquhar. High school principal was Bert Karrer and elementary principal was Norma Krueger.
Valedictorian was Carolyn Scheel (Stoll), and Salutatorian was Nancy Kunde (Meadows).
The first day of school was August 20, 1974. There were 12 new students in high school at the beginning of the year. Total enrollment went from 534 at the beginning of the year to 569 at the end of the school year. The annual was dedicated to Mariann Bielke and Joe Baker. The cost of the annual was $6.00.
Editor of the Bulldogs Bark was Gayle Dreyer (Stroh). Debra Tolle (Mattke) and Ricky Moss were crowned Halloween Queen and King at the Halloween Carnival which was held in the gym.
The Bonfire was held on October 3, 1974 at 7:30pm near the football field. Linda Evans escorted by Alvoid Hartfield was the Homecoming Queen. The Homecoming theme was “Pride of the 5”. Marion won their Homecoming game against Natalia with a score of 43-6. After the game, a dance was held at the Overlander with music provided by the Eezy Riders. Admission to the dance was $1.50. During Homecoming week the Pep Squad sponsored a Slave Auction in which they earned $60.00. The FHA sold Homecoming mums for $2.75 each. Students enjoyed playing ping pong in the hallways of the school during lunch.
The head football coach was James Grunert. The varsity football team was 3-6 for the season and 0-4 in district. For the first time in the history of basketball at Marion, basketball programs were printed for the basketball games. Proceeds from the sale of the programs went to the Athletic department. The boy’s basketball team were District Champions with a 12-0 District record. Making All District in basketball were Kathleen Henzen (Williams), Donna Reinhard (Torbet), and Marla Vader (Cockerham). The girls basketball team made school history when they were the first team to score 100 points in a basketball game. The game was played on December 10, 1974 against Lackland. Girl’s basketball coach was Jeanne McDaniel and boy’s basketball coach was Tom DeKunder. Robert Schwab was the only senior on the football team. The Jr. High football team finished with a 6-4 season record.
Senior class favorites were Karen Albrecht and Nelson Froboese.
School counselor was James T. Haslam and school nurse was Margaret Cushman. There were a total of 13 teachers at the high school. New teachers at Marion were James Grunert, Clyde Schultze, Elyse Allen, Rose Ann Broz, Pamela Hughes, Sharon Scheffer, Bernie Lamping, Marlou Bading, Elvie Drennan, and Virgina Drennan. The junior class sold magazine subscriptions and raised $600 to help with the expenses of the Prom. Clifton Eakin donated a painting he had painted to the library. He titled it “The Windmill”.
Cafeteria personnel were Gertrude Schumann, Lorine Moltz, Ramona Gray, and Erna Hermes.
Pat Norton was the band director and drum major was Carolyn Scheel. The band received a division II rating at the marching contest held in Round Rock on November 12th. There were 58 members in the marching band, which consisted of students in grades 7-12. The band marched in the Comal County Parade on September 27, 1974. Twirlers were Marla Vader and Karen Albrecht.”. A Christmas concert was held on December 11, 1974 in the gym with admission of 75 cents for adults and 25 cents for students. The proceeds from the concert went to the Band Boosters. A Christmas dance sponsored by the Student Council, was held on December 20, 1974 at the Overlander, with music provided by Country Rain. Admission to the dance was $1.50. If you brought a date that did not attend school at Marion, you had to get a “date card” from the office. Christmas holidays were from December 23rd to January 6th. The dance team was called the Style Steppers and was composed of 10 members. Both the high school and Jr. High had a Pep Squad. The cheerleaders for the ’74-’75 season were Kathleen Henzen, Debra Kubena, Judy Butler, Beverly Evans, Cathy Zipp, and Charlotte Gray. Donna Reinhard was the mascot. For a fundraiser, the cheerleaders sold zodiac posters for $2.50ea. Junior High cheerleaders wereMichele Granzin (Wiedner), Kathy Jones (Brietzke), Karen Lewis, and Caye Harper. The Junior and Senior girls had a powder puff football game on October 31st, that ended in a 12-12 tie. The junior girls were coached by James Grunert, and the senior girls were coached by Raymond McDaniel and Harold Tschirhart.
FFA Sweetheart was Karen Albrecht, and FHA Beau was Nelson Froboese.
The Student Council president was Larry Brietzke, and the sponsor was Bert Karrer. The Student Council was comprised of 22 members. They held a car wash on August 24, 1974 and profited $56.00 which was used to purchase Student Council pins for the’74-’75 officers and members. Co-editors of the annual staff were Karen Wilson and Nancy Kunde. The Annual Staff sponsor was JoAnn Lange.
Marion started the Home Economics Cooperative Education (H.E.C.E.) program which allowed students to attend school ½ day and work the other ½ day. Mariann Bielke was the director of the program. This was the last year the seniors were allowed a senior trip lasting more than one day. They took a trip to Six Flags on May 9-10, 1975. Bus drivers were Raymond McDaniel, Evie Drennan, Thomas Hansmann, Monroe Zuehl and Alma Rosebrock. The formal induction of new National Honor Society members was held on December 4, 1974 in the high school library. New NHS members installed were Henry Allison, James Germann, Pam Gressett, Shary Norton, Tina Orth, Pam Schulze, Diane Schumann, and Cynthia White. The senior class profited $700 from a turkey bingo and raffle held on November 10, 1974. Raffle winners were Sandy Norton (portable t.v.), Edgar Schneider (30-30 rifle), Anna Clark (clock radio), and Doris Geiwitz (prize package).Yvonne Hoegenauer was the local winner of the Voice of Democracy speech contest sponsored by the VFW.
Senior class officers were Nelson Froboese (President), Ronnie Torbet (Vice-President), Gayle Dreyer (Stroh) (Secretary), and Carolyn Scheel (Stoll) (Treasurer). Junior class officers were Arnold Zwicke (President), Larry Brietzke (Vice-President), Kerry Sczech (Secretary) and Charlotte Gray (Baker) (Treasurer). Sophomore class officers were Jimmy Vogel (President), Janice Krueger (Doege) (Vice-President), and Patrice Clor (Secretary-Treasurer). Freshman class officers were Dean Schmoekel (President), Aubrey Zwicke (Vice-President), and Rodney Friesenhahn (Secretary-Treasurer).
Class colors were baby blue and yellow.
Class favorites were Karen Albrecht and Nelson Froboese.
The class flower was the carnation, and the class song was “He Ain’t Heavy, He’s My Brother”.
The class motto was “If any lift of mine may ease the burden of another, God give me love and care and strength to help my ailing brother”.
The senior class sponsors were Nita Bode and Harold Tschirhart.
School board members were Melvin Vader, Vernon Schwab, Vernell Tolle, Roman Pfannstiel, Louis Kunde Jr., Ken Schaake, and Allen Krueger.
Graduates of the class of 1975 were Karen Ann Albrecht (Metzger), Linda Gail Brietzke, Frankie Mae Burleson, Gayle Lynn Dreyer (Stroh), Clifton Dale Eakin, Mary Frances Eaton, Linda Mae Evans, Nelson Arnold Froboese, Sheila Gallaway, Steven Ross Grimsley, Jason Jay Hild, Yvonne Elaine Hoegenauer, Ruben Ibarra, David Roy Jackson, John Andrew Klein, Nancy Gayle Kunde (Meadows), Robert Avila Martinez, George Garcia Mendoza, Richard Jon Moss, Peter Ramirez, Dennis Wayne Remmers, Carolyn Frances Scheel (Stoll), Robert Keith Schwab, Grace Suarez, Debra Lynn Tolle (Mattke), Ronald Craig Torbet, Marla Jean Vader (Cockerham), Colleen Rae White, Karen Kaye Wilson, and Charla Doris Wright.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *