About us

On January 1st, 2001, The Marion Education Foundation (MEF) was created as a non-profit foundation to support educational programs and recognize both the students and the educators of the Marion Independent School District. The foundation provides funds for educational programs through donations and the annual Tamale and Chili Supper. We continue to accept donations, memorials, and honorariums towards our Scholarship and Educator Mini-Grants.

Marion Elementary
A group picture of a class from the 1950’s in front of the 1938 building WPA.

Programs and activities:
Student Scholarship Program
Innovative Educational Grants
Marion ISD Hall of Honor
Fundraising Events
Marion Alumni Website Page (created in 2013 so that Marion Alumni can catch-up on each other)

The Marion Education Foundation is a 501(c)(3) non profit, tax exempt, philanthropic organization of citizens.

Board of Directors
President: Dr. Tom DeKunder
Vice President: Dennis Dreyer
Vice President Publicity:
Treasurer: Stephen “Buster” Cage
Secretary: Jackie Valentien

Sally Boeck
Darlene Cooper
Tracie Franke
James Hartman
John Kelley
K.L. “Bubba” Kunde
Dorothy Mills
David Mueller
Belinda Reasor
Dena Rittimann
Harold Tschirhart
Maria Valle
Debra Krueger
Carol Folbre

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *